Drift the night away

21 06 2010

Living on the westside and working in the Brisbane CBD, I occasionally passed an unassuming restaurant in Milton as I walked the river on my way home in the afternoon.  I had often thought that the location embraced the panoramic views of the city, and I was always hopeful that an opportunity would arise where I could savour the experience from inside.  Well that opportunity presented itself one evening when my boyfriend and I had to madly find a last-minute alternative to our anniversary celebrations, and so our experience with Drift was made.

Formerly known as Oxley’s, Drift has become a wonderful venue that offers a unique experience for diners.  There is a vibrant and entertaining atmosphere with the sound and feel of a jazz cabaret, which makes it an ideal place to get together with friends, but the cafe also caters to more intimate occasions with dinner by candlelight.  On being shown to our private table we order a bottle of the Margaret River, Western Australia’s Hen Pecked Shiraz and enjoy the views along the river; from the city to Toowong. 

With our first glass of this exuberant red for the evening, we take time to peruse the mouth-watering menu put together by Head Chef Benny Loh.  For our entree, I decided on the crumbed goats cheese zucchini flower and asparagus which came atop a cauliflower puree.  My partner chose the Gladstone scallops, chorizo and crispy pork belly.  Both dishes were delicious; the zucchini flowers were stuffed-to-bursting, with not a crumbed goats cheese as described, but a smooth texture that melted in the mouth, and the only flaw for my boyfriend was that the pork belly was not crispy enough.  For our mains, my boyfriend ordered the seafood and mushroom risotto, that was loaded with bugs, prawns, scallops and baby octopus, topped with a serving of soft-shell crab tempura.  I was assured (allergies to some of the items in that dish meant I was unable to sample it myself) that the consistency of the rice, the seafood and the sauce created favourable flavours and textures.  But as he attacked the meal with gusto, it was evident that this was an impressive serve.   I on the other hand, was satisfied (but perhaps left wanting) with my swordfish on a bed of mash with mushrooms and asparagus. 

Service throughout was exceptional; attentive without being invasive. 

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5

Drift Cafe|Jetty|Events details:
 Address – 330 Coronation Drive, Milton, QLD 
 Food – Australian, Seafood
 Drink – Licensed 
 Prices – Entrees start at $15, Mains are from $27 and Desserts start at $11.

Drift is open for Lunch from Monday to Sunday and for Dinner from Monday to Saturday.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

